QSAP News


    Press Conference on the Reopening of Burial Chamber
    in Pyramid 9 of Begrawiya

    Khartoum, 24th April, 2018

    The royal city of Meroe, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, located in the Northern State of Sudan, hosted a press conference held on the occasion of reopening the burial chamber of Pyramid 9 in Bagrawiya.

    Among those attending were political and media personalities interested in heritage and archaeology, on the top of which were the Minister of Tourism, Antiquities and Wildlife of Sudan and the Governor of the Northern State, in addition to 85 media personalities representing several bodies, such as Al Jazeera News, Al Jazeera Mubasher, the BBC Arabic Channel, the Russian News Agency, Sky News Arabic, the German News Agency, Sudan News Agency and Qatar’s Al Watan Newspaper and Al Araby TV.

    Dr. Mahmoud Sulaiman Bashir, Director of the Regional Archaeology Office of the Qatari Mission for the Pyramids of Sudan, confirmed in his address that the reopening of this chamber is conducted by the Qatari Mission of the Pyramids of Sudan, which operates under the umbrella of the Qatar-Sudan Archaeological Project as one of more than forty archaeological missions. The Qatari mission is a joint cooperation between Qatar Museums, Sudan’s National Corporation for Antiquities and Museums and the German Archaeological Institute.

    Moreover, Dr. Mahmoud Sulaiman added that the burial chamber is located at a depth of 10 meters under King Adikhalamani’s pyramid 9, who ruled the Kingdom of Meroe between 207 BCE and 186 BCE. He also revealed that the excavating team was able to access the second and third burial chambers through the first one, where several artefacts were found such as pottery, jars, human and animal remains and some stone, iron and faience objects.

    He also highlighted that these new results expand our knowledge about the history of the Meroitic Kingdom to a significant degree.

    On his part, Dr. Salaheddin Mohammed Ahmed, General Coordinator of the Qatar Sudan Archaeological Project, conveyed that the Qatari Mission for the Pyramids of Sudan is conducting research, maintenance, excavation and restoration work in the pyramids’ area of Bagrawiya, in addition to site development and management. He also pointed out that the re-opening of these burial chambers is one of the mission’s main objectives. These chambers remained buried since they were first discovered by the American archaeologist George Reisner in 1923, who mentioned in his diaries that some of the chambers’ walls were decorated with colored reliefs. In 2016, the mission re-opened the burial chamber of Pyramid 503, part of the southern pyramids’ cluster and belonging to Queen Khennuwa. It is one of the oldest pyramids in the region: it dates back to the 5th century BCE. The burial chamber was still holding its colorful decorations, inscriptions and Egyptian hieroglyphic writings.

    His Excellency, the Governor of the Northern State of Sudan conveyed his thanks and appreciation to the government of Qatar for its support to the Qatar-Sudan Archaeological Project which aims to support the exploration of Sudan’s rich ancient heritage and to contribute to its preservation.

    His Excellency, the Minister of Tourism, Antiquities and Wildlife of Sudan, expressed his thanks and gratitude to the government of the State of Qatar for its pioneering role and its great support for Sudan’s antiquities and heritage. His Excellency also pointed out that the Bagrawiya Pyramids area is one of the most important sites in Sudan. This UNESCO World Heritage site witnesses a huge number of visitors that is going to increase thanks to the Qatari mission’s efforts to rehabilitate the site and promote it.

     
     

    QUICK LINKS  

    QSAP News

    QSAP Sites

    QSAP Publications

     

    QM

     

    Copyright © 2013 Qatar Museums

أخبار المشروع القطري السوداني للآثار


    المؤتمر الخاص باعادة افتتاح غرفة الدفن الخاصة
    بالهرم رقم 9 بمنطقة البجراوية
    الخرطوم في 24 ابريل 2018

    احتضنت منطقة أهرامات  مروي- وهي احد المواقع المسجلة بالتراث العالمي باليونيسكو -  والتي تقع في الولاية الشمالية بالسودان , المؤتمر الصحفي الذي عُقد بمناسبة إعادة إفتتاح غرفة الدفن الخاصة بالهرم رقم 9 بمنطقة البجراوية.

    حضر المؤتمر لفيفٌ من رجال السياسة والاعلام والمهتمين بشؤون التراث والآثار  , كان على رأس الحضور سعادة وزير السياحة والآثار والحياة البرية بالسودان,  و السيد  حاكم الولاية الشمالية , اضافة الى عدد 85 من الاعلاميين يمثلون جهات عدة على راسهم قناة الجزيرة للأخبار والجزيرة مباشر  وقناة البي بي سي العربية ووكالة الانباء الروسية وسكاي نيوز العربية ووكالة الانباء الالمانية ووكالة الانباء السودانية وجريدة الوطن وقناة العربي القطريتين.

    وفي البداية تحدث الدكتور محمود سليمان بشير  مدير مكتب الاثار الاقليمي للبعثة القطرية لاهرامات  السودان والذي أكد في كلمته ان إعادة افتتاح هذه الغرفة  من اعمال البعثة القطرية لاهرامات السودان والتي تعمل تحت مظلة المشروع القطري السوداني للآثار كواحدة من أكثر من أربعين بعثة اثرية أخرى , وهذه البعثة تعمل بالتعاون المشترك بين متاحف قطر والهيئة العامة للآثار والمتاحف بالسودان والمعهد الالماني للآثار .

     واضاف مدير مكتب الآثار الاقليمي  ان هذه الغرفة تقع على عمق 10 أمتار اسفل الهرم  رقم 9 والذي يرجع الى الملك أديخالاماني  والذي حكم مملكة مروي في الفترة  من 207 الى 186 قبل الميلاد, وأوضح ان فريق العمل تمكن  من دخول  غرفة الدفن الثانية  والثالثة مروراً بالغرفة الاولى حيث تم الكشف عن العديد من القطع الاثرية مثل الاواني الفخارية  والجرار والعظام الآدمية والحيوانية  اضافة الى بعض القطع  من الحجر والحديد والقاشاني، وبين ان دراسة هذه القطع وما تسفر عنه من نتائج  من شأنه ان  يُثري معلوماتنا عن تاريخ وحضارة مملكة مروي.

    وبدوره تحدث الدكتور صلاح الدين محمد احمد المنسق العام للمشروع القطري السوداني  والذي اشار الى ان البعثة القطرية لاهرامات السودان تقوم بأعمال البحث والصيانة والتنقيب  والترميم في منطقة الاهرامات بالبجراوية اضافة الى العمل على تنمية الموقع وادارته واعداده للسياحة , وأشار المنسق العام للمشروع ان اعادة فتح بعض الغرف الجنائزية  لأهرامات البجراوية  من أهم اهداف عمل البعثة  حيث ظلت هذه الغرف مدفونة منذ الكشف عنها على يد عالم الاثار الأمريكي جورج رايزنر عام 1923  والذي بالرجوع الى مذكراته  وملاحظاته تبين ان بعض جدران هذه الغرف مزخرفة وملونة ,  وتمكنت البعثة في موسم عملها في 2016 من اعادة فتح الغرفة الجنائزية للهرم رقم 503 في مجموعة الأهرامات الجنوبية  والخاص بالملكة خنوا  وهو من أقدم الأهرامات في المنطقة  ويرجع الى القرن الخامس قبل الميلاد  حيث وجدنا غرفة الدفن محتفظة بزخارفها الملونة وما بها من نقوش وكتابات بالهيروغليفية المصرية .

    كما تحدث سعادة حاكم الولاية الشمالية بالسودان والذي ثمن على  الدور القطري في دعمه للمشروع القطري السوداني والذي يعمل على العناية والإهتمام  بآثار وتراث السودان , معرباً سعادته عن جزيل الشكر لحكومة دولة قطر.

    كما تحدث سعادة وزير السياحة والآثار والحياة البرية بالسودان والذي وجه في بداية كلمته كل الشكر والتقدير والإمتنان  لحكومة دولة قطر لدورها الرائد  ودعمها الكبير  لآثار وتراث السودان, كما بين سعادته أن موقع اهرامات البجراوية  هو من أهم المواقع الثرية في السودان  والذي يستقبل عدداً كبيراً من الزوار بحكم شهرته العالمية كأحد مواقع التراث العالمي , وأن ما تقوم به البعثة القطرية من شأنه ان يعمل على تأهيل الموقع والترويج له مما يؤدي بالطبع الى زيادة في عدد الزوار .

     
     

    الوصلات السريعة 

    الأخبـار

    البعثـات

    المطبوعـات

     

    QM

     

    جميع حقوق الطبع والنشر والنسخ محفوظة -2013 © هيئة متاحف قطر