Name of Mission Early Makuria
    Mission No. QSAP 12
    Institution Polish Centre of Mediterranean Archaeology, Warsaw University, and NCAM
    Location Northern State

    The remarkable burial site of Zuma is situated about 40 km southwest of Jebel Barkal and is close to El Kurru in the Napatan Region, on the right side of the Nile. The cemetery was Visited several times by researchers in the last 200 years, but resulted only in brief descriptions without the attempt at regular excavations. It was only when a plan was drawn up during the expedition of Karl Richard Lepsius in the 1840s, that it became obvious that the cemetery extended over 20 hectares.

    Systematic excavations began in 2004 by a team from the National Corporation for Antiquities and Museums and the Polish Centre of Mediterranean Archaeology. This was supported by QSAP since 2013, including the investigation of some of the 29 grave mounds.

    Three grave types are distinguished: Type I consists of artificial mounds, which are completely covered with stones. The grave mounds have a diameter of 25–53 meters and were from 6 to 13.5 meters high. The mounds of type II have a diameter of 21–31 meters, and are built of sand and loose stones. A stone ring built around the hill keeps them together. The underground burial shaft is M-shaped (when viewed from above) and has two chambers, one for the funeral and the other for the grave goods. The hills of type III are flat and less than 1 meter high. They have a diameter of 9–20 meters and include only a single grave chamber. All grave chambers were robbed. However, recently excavated underground tunnels under the mounds showed evidence of having contained pottery, beads, metal fragments and animal bones. Ceramics found in the graves dated to the late 5th and early 6th centuries BCE.

    Great efforts are currently being made to fence the ruins to protect the site, which is situated in close proximity to an existing village. This measure is important in order to stop all movement across the area. In addition, the excavated burial shafts have been covered by a protecting metal grid-cover, as they might pose a threat to visitors. Finally, during the past year, a series of information panels were set up at the site to serve as information points for tourists at Zuma.

     
     

    QUICK LINKS  

    QSAP News

    QSAP Sites

    QSAP Publications

     

    QM

     

    Copyright © 2013 Qatar Museums

اسم البعثة مقرّة المبكرة
    رقم البعثة QSAP 12
    الجهة المنفّذة المركز البولندي لآثار منطقة البحر الأبيض المتوسط، جامعة وارسو والهيئة العامة للآثار والمتاحف (NCAM)
    الموقع الولاية الشمالية

    تقع مدافن الزومة الاستثنائية على بعد حوالي 40 كيلومترًا جنوب غربي جبل البركل وعلى مقربة من الكرو في المنطقة النوبية على الضفة اليمنى لنهرالنيل. ارتاد على المقبرة عديد الباحثين خلال المائتي عام الماضية، إلا أن أبحاثهم لم تفض سوى إلى وصف موجز لها دون أية محاولة إلى إجراء حفريات بشكل منتظم بها. ولم يكن واضحا أن المقبرة تمتد على مساحة 20 هكتارًا، إلا بعدما رسم كارل ريتشارد ليبسيوس مخططا لها خلال البعثة التي قام بها في أربعينيات القرن التاسع عشر.

    في عام 2004، شرع فريق مشترك من الهيئة القومية للآثار والمتاحف السودانية والمركز البولندي للآثار المتوسطية بأعمال تنقيب منهجية، وبدعم من المشروع القطري السوداني للآثار منذ عام 2013 عملوا على البحث في بعض من المدافن التلية التسعة والعشرين.

    وجرى خلال تلك الأبحاث تمييز ثلاثة أنواع من المدافن: فالنوع الأول عبارة عن تلال اصطناعية مغطاة بالحجارة بالكامل، ويبلغ قطر القبور التلية من 25 إلى 53 مترا وارتفاعها من 6 أمتار إلى 13.5 مترا. بينما يتراوح قطر النوع الثاني من القبور التلية بين 21 و 31 مترا وهي مشيدة من الرمل والحجارة مشدودة بعضها البعض بحلقة حجرية تلتف حول التلة. ويأخذ المدفن العمودي الباطني شكل حرف M (عندما يشاهد من الأعلى)، وله غرفتان: غرفة مخصصة للجنازة والأخرى للمرفقات الجنائزية. أما النوع الثالث فهو عبارة عن تلال مسطحة ترتفع لأقل من متر واحد عن سطح الأرض، ويتراوح قطرها بين 9 أمتار و 20 مترا ولا تضم إلا غرفة وحيدة للدفن. ولم تسلم أي من غرف القبور من أعمال النهب، إذ أفرغت جميعها من محتوياتها، إلا أن الأنفاق الباطنية المتواجدة تحت التلال والتي جرى تنقيبها مؤخرا، أظهرت أدلة عن وجود الفخار والخرز والشظايا المعدنية وعظام الحيوانات. وتعود الخزفيات التي كُشف عنها داخل القبور إلى أواخر القرن الخامس وأوائل القرن السادس قبل الميلاد.

    ولأن الموقع يتواجد على مقربة من قرية مأهولة، تُبذل حاليا جهود حثيثة لتسييج الأطلال بغية حماية الموقع، فهذه الخطوة في غاية الأهمية من أجل منع المرور داخل الموقع، كما غطيت المدافن العمودية بغطاء معدني شبكي لحفظ سلامة الزوار.

    وفي العام الماضي، نُصبت مجموعة من اللوحات الإعلامية بالموقع لتكون نقاطا إعلامية للزوار الذين يترددون على موقع الزومة.

     
     

    الوصلات السريعة 

    الأخبـار

    البعثـات

    المطبوعـات

     

    QM

     

    جميع حقوق الطبع والنشر والنسخ محفوظة -2013 © هيئة متاحف قطر